Super Memories – My Top 5 Super Bowls

Its all about the ring ... either you have one or you don't.

I’m 32 years old and I haven’t always been into to football like I am now. Probably around middle school was were the love affair began. I remember as a child my dad would boil peanuts, make sandwiches and we would sneak them into Bucs games. The first Super Bowl that I can remember was when Doug Williams led the Redskins over the Broncos. Since then, I have compiled a top 5  list of my favorite Super Bowls. Check it out.

#5 – Super Bowl 43 – Steelers/ Cardinals 

Has there been a better SB catch?

 This was a solid game. Nobody gave the Cardinals a punchers chance of hanging with the Steelers but the game went down to the wire and that’s what you want in the big game. This game gets bonus points cause it was played in Tampa, but even though I wanted the Steelers to win I didn’t have a dog in the fight. I enjoyed seeing Mike Tomlin get a ring, the second African-American Coach to do so.

#4 Super Bowl 29 – 49ers/Chargers 

This game wasn’t competitive at all but this 49er team is one of my favorite teams of all-time. Young, Rice, Waters and Deion. This was a fun team to watch and they handled their business on the field. I still love the vid of Deion high-stepping and Merton Hanks smacking his helmet. Priceless.

#3 Super Bowl 41 Colts/Bears

This game comes in at #3 not so much for the game itself but what it meant. Two African-American coaches battling in the Super Bowl for the first time ever. I’m a huge Tony Dungy fan and being that the Bucs won a Superbowl after he left it felt good to finally see him get a ring.

#2 Super Bowl 34 – Rams/Titans 

A game of inches

This was one of the all-time great games I believe. I was actually pulling for McNair, Eddie George and the Titans to win the ball game. I’m not going to go into how my Bucs should have been in this game so I will leave that alone. (But see this … http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBLBDh6iNxA ) … The way McNair brought his team back and the shot of a outstretched Kevin Dyson stretching to get into the endzone as time expired was legendary. Great game.

#1 SuperBowl 37 – Bucs / Raiders 

Y’all already know!! This was probably one of the greatest days of my life. (Top ten) My Bucs have the distinction of having the only 0-14 team in history. We’ve been called the “yucks” and been a embarrassment for a long time. The Dungy regime brought in a winning culture lead by dominating defense. Gruden came in and added the missing ingredient and we became champions. Its a day I will never forget.

D.Brooks finishing off the Raiders

So what are some of your Super Bowl memories?

3 Responses

  1. I’d have to say XLIV from last year and XLII w/the Pats and Giants stand out. The latter esp. with the David and Goliath matchup leading to one of the biggest upsets ever. XLIII was another good one with a great ending, and I’ll never forget seeing Kevin Dyson reach but still come up short.

    There’s also XXXVI with Vinitieri (sp?) saving the day for the first time. However, as a Cowboys fan, I must say their first outing against the Bills was my favorite…

  2. Super Bowl 34 wasn’t the best to watch until the end, but the end was oh so dope. Nice list brother man, however I think Super Bowl 38 (Panthers vs. Patriots) is highly underrated. That was a dope game and I have no idea how Carolina kept in that game.

  3. Super Bowl 34 wasn’t the best to watch until the end, but the end was oh so dope. Nice list brother man, however I think Super Bowl 38 (Panthers vs. Patriots) is highly underrated. That was a dope game and I have no idea how Carolina kept in that game.

Leave a Reply

